EAHIL Membership in IFLA sections

By Lotta Haglund | Published: 2021-08-31

As a member of IFLA EAHIL is allowed membership in four sections, without additional cost. As an association we’re also automatically added to the Management of Library Associations section. The IFLA Sections are the primary focus for the Federation’s work in a particular type of library and information service, in an aspect of library and information science or in a region. All IFLA Members are entitled to register for Sections of their choice. Once registered, voting Members have the right to nominate specialists for the Standing Committee of the Sections for which they are registered. The Standing Committee is the key group of professionals who develop and monitor the programme of the Section.

For many years EAHIL has been a member of the following sections.

  • Academic and research libraries
  • Document delivery and resource sharing
  • Health and biosciences libraries
  • Information technology

At the summer meeting of the EAHIL Executive Board it was decided that membership in the section Document delivery and resource sharing should be replaced by membership in section 43 Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning.